Fair Territory

What Do You Know? 9 Rules Questions from 2018

1. There’s a runner on first, catcher’s interference is called and the batter safely makes it to first as a result of the play. If the runner on first (after safely reaching second base), makes an attempt for third base during the play and gets thrown out, does the offensive coach have the option to…

Dodgers and Angels Players Ignore Umpires…What Happens Next is Chaos

The Onus is on the Defensive Team not to Play on a Retired Runner The Dodgers and Angels played in Anaheim on July 6th.  In the top of the sixth the Dodgers had Justin Turner on second and Cody Bellinger on first with one out when Matt Kemp singled to left scoring Turner.  Justin Upton…

Catcher’s Interference

On Sunday the Kansas City Royals and Houston Astros played at Minute Maid.  In the bottom of the second, Tony Kemp was batting with the bases loaded and one out when Kemp’s swing made contact with the mitt of Royals’ catcher Drew Butera.  Plate umpire Lance Barrett ruled the ball dead because it was a…

Batter Taps Rolling Ball with Bat

    Normally, when you think of batter-runner interference, you think of the batter-runner who runs out of the 45-foot long, 3-foot wide runner’s box the last 45-feet and interferes with the fielder taking the throw. But batter-runner interference can occur long before the batter-runner reaches the box. Once the ball is batted into fair…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.