Uncategorized Category Archive

Blog

Must a Runner Slide When Attempting to Break Up a Double Play?

 Under professional rules (OBR): NO There is no requirement that a runner must slide when trying to beak-up a DP.  In the game between Tampa Bay and San Francisco on April 5, 2019, the Giants’ Yangervis Solarte did not slide into second base on an attempted DP and no interference was called after a Rays […]

Blog

Hit By Pitch, Not So Simple

When a batter is hit by a pitch it is usually an easy call for the home plate umpire; dead ball, batter awarded first base and all runners who are forced advance one base. But what happens if the batter is not in the batter’s box? Or attempts to swing or offers to bunt the […]

Blog

Broadcasters Call Machado Play “Bush League.” But is it Interference?

Diamondback Announcers did not hold back on their opinion of Manny Machado and his controversial play in San Diego versus the Padres, Tuesday, April 2, 2019. “It’s such an unnecessary thing, to say the least” Brenly said. “Obviously, it could create a potential injury. You drop a bat next to a guy who’s looking up […]

Blog

Deflected Balls that Remain in Play (Part 3)

Deflected Batted Ball Strikes the Runner  Deflections make for knotty problems since they usually lead to right of way arguments.  Whenever a batted ball is deflected off the pitcher or another infielder into the path of the runner, one of three things can happen: The ball can remain alive and in play The runner can […]

Blog

Deflected Balls Go Into Dead Ball Territory

Deflected Balls That Go into Dead Ball Territory: Part I This is the first of a three-part series involving rules that relate to pitched, thrown and batted balls that are deflected into dead ball territory or remain in play.  In this edition, I’ll cover deflections that go into dead ball territory on throws from the […]

Blog

New Twists for Umpire Interference

Crazy Play That Happened in Dominican Republic Winter Ball The following play occurred in late November in a Dominican Republic winter league game between Gigantes and Toros. Gigantes had a runner on first when the batter hit a scorching line drive over the center fielder’s head. While the four umpires were rotating, the plate umpire […]

Blog

What Do You Know? 9 Rules Questions from 2018

1. There’s a runner on first, catcher’s interference is called and the batter safely makes it to first as a result of the play. If the runner on first (after safely reaching second base), makes an attempt for third base during the play and gets thrown out, does the offensive coach have the option to […]

Blog

Oops! MLB Umpire Catches Wild Pitch

In the July 27, 2018 Jays-White Sox game in Chicago, top of the fifth inning, Curtis Granderson was batting for the Jays with Russell Martin on third, Randal Grichuk on second, and Devon Travis on first with one out.  Sox pitcher Thyago Vieira unleashed a wild one. The ball bounced in the dirt and was […]

Blog

Runner’s Lane Violations All Over MLB

               Bellinger Called Out The Dodgers and Padres played in San Diego on Thursday night. Cody Bellinger led off the top of the fourth for the Dodgers in a scoreless game and hit a dribbler in front of the plate. The ball was fielded by catcher Austin Hedges who fired wide of first base and […]