Uncategorized

Expert Analysis

New Twists for Umpire Interference

Topics: Base Awards, Placing Runners, Umpire, Umpire Interference, Uncategorized

  Crazy Play That Happened in Dominican Republic Winter Ball The following play occurred in late November in a Dominican Republic winter league game between Gigantes and Toros. Gigantes had a runner on first when the batter hit a scorching line drive over the center fielder’s head. While the four umpires were rotating, the plate…

Expert Analysis

What Do You Know? 9 Rules Questions from 2018

Topics: Base, Batter's Box, Catcher Interference, Dead Ball Area, Fair Territory, Foul Territory, Infield Fly, Pinch Hitter, Pitcher, Pitcher Pick-offs, Runner Interference, Uncategorized

1. There’s a runner on first, catcher’s interference is called and the batter safely makes it to first as a result of the play. If the runner on first (after safely reaching second base), makes an attempt for third base during the play and gets thrown out, does the offensive coach have the option to…

Expert Analysis

Oops! MLB Umpire Catches Wild Pitch

Topics: Catcher, Definitions, Equipment, Interference, Latest News, Lodged Ball, Placing Runners, Placing Runners, Umpire, Umpire Interference, Uncategorized

In the July 27, 2018 Jays-White Sox game in Chicago, top of the fifth inning, Curtis Granderson was batting for the Jays with Russell Martin on third, Randal Grichuk on second, and Devon Travis on first with one out.  Sox pitcher Thyago Vieira unleashed a wild one. The ball bounced in the dirt and was…

Expert Analysis

Runner’s Lane Violations All Over MLB

Topics: Baseline, Batter Runner, Latest News, Runner Interference, Uncategorized

               Bellinger Called Out The Dodgers and Padres played in San Diego on Thursday night. Cody Bellinger led off the top of the fourth for the Dodgers in a scoreless game and hit a dribbler in front of the plate. The ball was fielded by catcher Austin Hedges who fired wide of first base and…

Expert Analysis

Yes! A Pitcher Can Win & Lose the Same Game

Topics: Expert Analysis, Substitutions, Suspended Game, Uncategorized

Suspended Game: Rule 7.02   The Yankees-Nationals game on May 15 was suspended after 5 1/2 innings and will resume on Monday June 18 in Washington in the bottom of the sixth with the score tied, 3-3. A variety of questions always accompanies suspended games. Here’s a few and how they will relate to the…

Expert Analysis

9 Rules Questions Answered Here

Topics: Catcher, Dead Ball Area, Expert Analysis, Home Plate Collision, Infield Fly, Interference, Latest News, Official Baseball Rules, Pitcher, Placing Runners, Runner Interference, Substitutions, Uncategorized

1. Infield Fly Rule situation. The bases are loaded and one out when the batter hits a pop fly near first base in fair territory. The umpires invoke the IFR. The runner on first base, who is several feet off the bag, is tracking the fly ball instead of locating the first baseman who is…

Expert Analysis

Double Switch Delirium Reds Send Wrong Players into the Field

Topics: Batting Out of Order, Latest News, Manager, Substitutions, Umpire, Uncategorized

Someone once said, “Patience is the mother of all virtues.” That certainly holds true in the baseball sense. Every major league and minor league manager and bench coach needs to show patience in certain situations to maximize the benefits of the rule book. As we saw last week, Reds’ interim manager Jim Riggleman showed his…

Expert Analysis

Orioles Pitcher Throws to Uncovered Base – Balk

Topics: Balk, Latest News, Pitcher, Pitcher Pick-offs, Uncategorized

Gausman Called For Balk By rule, the pitcher is charged with a balk while in contact with the rubber when he throws to the first baseman or third baseman who is either in front of or behind the base and obviously not making an attempt to retire the runner at that base.  Several years ago…

Expert Analysis

Benintendi Baseline Call Preserves No-Hitter

Topics: Baseline, Latest News, Rules Controversy, Uncategorized

The Baseline rule (5.09 (b) (1) played a major role in preserving A’s pitcher Sean Manaea’s no-hitter against the Red Sox on Saturday night. With two outs in the sixth inning, Boston left fielder Andrew Benintendi sent a soft grounder up the first-base line and was ruled safe at first base after first baseman Matt Olson failed to tag…

Expert Analysis

Catcher Interference Won’t Always Stop the Show – Insider Report

Topics: Catcher Interference, Famous Plays, Interference, Uncategorized

The Royals and Indians played in Cleveland on June 4, 2016. In the top of the first inning, the Royals’ Whit Merrifield attempted to steal second base with Lorenzo Cain at bat. At almost the time of pitcher Josh Tomlin’s release, Indians’ catcher Chris Gimenez jumped up, took off his mask, and stepped on the…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.