Runner Interference Category Archive

Blog

What Do You Know? 9 Rules Questions from 2018

1. There’s a runner on first, catcher’s interference is called and the batter safely makes it to first as a result of the play. If the runner on first (after safely reaching second base), makes an attempt for third base during the play and gets thrown out, does the offensive coach have the option to […]

Blog

Runner’s Lane Violations All Over MLB

               Bellinger Called Out The Dodgers and Padres played in San Diego on Thursday night. Cody Bellinger led off the top of the fourth for the Dodgers in a scoreless game and hit a dribbler in front of the plate. The ball was fielded by catcher Austin Hedges who fired wide of first base and […]

Blog

9 Rules Questions Answered Here

1. Infield Fly Rule situation. The bases are loaded and one out when the batter hits a pop fly near first base in fair territory. The umpires invoke the IFR. The runner on first base, who is several feet off the bag, is tracking the fly ball instead of locating the first baseman who is […]

Blog

Best (Legal) Way to Break Up a Double Play

I have advocated in my spring training presentations that the pop-up slide is an excellent technique to help break up the double play at second base in a force situation. Because of the 2016 sliding regulations under rule 6.01 (j), runners obviously do not have the liberal opportunity they had in the past when breaking […]

Blog

11 Rules Questions that Need Answering Now

If a manager wants to challenge multiple situations in the same play, what is the proper way to have the field umpires communicate this to the Command Center?   The manager should tell the field umpires the situations he wants challenged. It should be done in layers at the same time. Does a tag attempt […]

Blog

Rizzo’s Controversial Slide at Home

For the second consecutive year, the Cubs’ Anthony Rizzo was involved in a controversial slide at the plate. Following is the report from MLB.com. In the eighth inning of the Cubs’ 7-0 win over the Pirates on Monday afternoon at PNC Park, a replay-review ruling on Anthony Rizzo’s hard slide into catcher Elias Diaz stood, resulting in […]

Blog

Did Pitcher Throw at Runner for Interference Call?

The Reds and Indians played in Cleveland on May 23, 2017, when the Reds’ Zack Cozart was called for batter-runner interference. Cozart was clearly out of the runner’s box but did Indians’ pitcher Carlos Carrasco have a good throwing lane to first base? And even if he did, does it matter since Cozart was clearly […]

Blog

Jason Heyward Called for Batter Runner Interference

Before we look at a couple of recent batter-runner interference plays, let’s review the provisions and “interpretations” that cover rule 5.09 (a) (11) and the 45-foot long, 3-foot wide runner’s box that has been around since 1881. Keep in mind that the rule is designed to protect the fielder “taking” the throw, not “making” the […]

Blog

MLB Postseason Riddled with Rules Controversies

Why Didn’t Dusty Baker Protest Follow-Through Interference? Did Yankees Gary Sanchez Violate a Rule on the Final Out of the Game? Was that Interference on Carlos Correa that Allowed the Winning Run to Score?   Expert Rules Analysis Here CONTROVERSY #1 In the most important game played by the Nationals all year long could the […]

Insider Report

Runner Continues to Run after Being Called Out

The following play occurred recently in the Class A California League between the Modesto Nuts and the Rancho Cucamonga Quakes. With the bases loaded and one out, the Quakes’ batter hit a ground ball over the third base bag that was fielded by the third baseman who stepped on third and threw in the dirt […]