Batter Runner

Expert Analysis

What is the Runner’s Lane?

Topics: Batter Runner, Expert Analysis, Runners Lane

What exactly is the runner’s lane? Where does the runner’s lane start and end? When does the runner start being required to run within the runner’s lane? What happens if the runner doesn’t stay in the lane and interferences with the play? Major League Umpire, Ted Barrett, and Chris Welsh breakdown these situations and explain…

Expert Analysis

How a Batter Can Be Called Out For Touching a Foul Ball

Topics: Batter Interference, Batter Runner, Foul Territory, Interference
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

Type 2 Obstruction – Here’s What You need to Know

Topics: Appeal, Base Awards, Batter Runner, Expert Analysis, Famous Plays, Fielding, Interference, Obstruction, Rules Controversy, Runners Lane

Type 2 Obstruction (Ball Remains in Play) Under Type 2 obstruction, there is no play being directly made on the obstructed runner at the time of the obstruction. The ball is normally a long distance from the act of obstruction.  The umpire signals the obstruction by pointing to the obstruction and yelling “That’s obstruction.” This…

Expert Analysis

When a Runner Passes Another Runner

Topics: Batter Runner, Runners, Runners Passing Runners
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

All About Obstruction…it Happened in the Major Leagues Again!

Topics: Base Awards, Batter Runner, Definitions, Obstruction, Placing Runners, Runners, Runners Lane

Obstruction Definition Obstruction is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball or a throw, impedes the progress of any runner. Contact does not have to be made for the umpire to rule obstruction. There are two types of obstruction Type…

Expert Analysis

What Happens When a Batter/Runner Overruns First Base on Walk?

Topics: Base, Base Awards, Baseball Myths, Batter Runner, Uncategorized

A base on balls entitles the batter to go to first base. But is the batter, now a batter/runner permitted to overrun 1B like he can if he has a base hit? This is one of the most misunderstood rules in baseball. It is time you learned it once and for all. Chris Welsh and…

Expert Analysis

Did Yadier Molina Interfere by Waving his Hand?

Topics: Batter Runner, Runner Interference, Runners Lane, Uncategorized
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

Christian Yelich Called Out After Overrunning 1B

Topics: Batter Runner, Rules Controversy, Runners, Uncategorized
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

MLB Hitter Smacks HR But Misses 1B…Umps Didn’t See It But…

Topics: Appeal, Base, Batter Runner, Replay Review

Missing a base on a home run is a rarity on any level of baseball, especially in the major and minor leagues. According to data at retrosheet.com, it appears the last home run in the major leagues to be lost due to a player failing to touch a base happened on June 17, 1983, when…

Expert Analysis

Javier Baez Confuses Pirates When He Runs From 1B to Home

Topics: Baseball Myths, Batter Runner, force out, Time Play

Rule 5.08 (a) says that no run can score when the batter-runner makes the third out before he touches first base, or if the inning ends in a force. The Pirates hosted the Cubs on Thursday afternoon. In the top of the third, Javier Baez was batting with Willson Contreras on second base and two…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.