Batter Interference Category Archive

Blog

Batter Interferes With Catcher’s Throw

Two Batter Interference plays that occurred six days apart are worth a look. Play Number 1 On August 31st the Astros hosted the Rangers at Tropicana Field in Florida because of Hurricane Harvey.  In the bottom of the first, the Astros had George Springer on first base and no outs when Alex Bregman swung through […]

Blog

Batter Taps Rolling Ball with Bat

    Normally, when you think of batter-runner interference, you think of the batter-runner who runs out of the 45-foot long, 3-foot wide runner’s box the last 45-feet and interferes with the fielder taking the throw. But batter-runner interference can occur long before the batter-runner reaches the box. Once the ball is batted into fair […]

Blog

Did the Umpire Misinterpret Backswing Batter Interference?

In my opinion the umpire in the Blue Jays-Angels game on April 24 misinterpreted a backswing interference call that might have affected the outcome of the game in the Blue Jays 2-1 loss. There is a distinction between two types of batter interference covered in rule 6.03 (a) (3) and (4) Comment: For the sake […]

Insider Report

Did the Umpire Misinterpret Backswing Batter Interference?

In my opinion the umpire in the Blue Jays-Angels game on April 24, 2017, misinterpreted a backswing interference call that might have affected the outcome of the game in the Blue Jays 2-1 loss.   There is a distinction between two types of batter interference covered in rule 6.03 (a) (3) and (4) Comment: For […]

Blog

MLB Postseason Riddled with Rules Controversies

Why Didn’t Dusty Baker Protest Follow-Through Interference? Did Yankees Gary Sanchez Violate a Rule on the Final Out of the Game? Was that Interference on Carlos Correa that Allowed the Winning Run to Score?   Expert Rules Analysis Here CONTROVERSY #1 In the most important game played by the Nationals all year long could the […]

Blog

Batter’s Interference: Coaching Tips For Smart Coaches

When a batter hinders a catcher making a play, it is basic batter interference. It usually happens that a batter swings at a pitch, misses and then falls into the space of the catcher who is attempting to throw out a runner. The batter is out and the runner(s) are returned to their previous base. […]

Insider Report

Batter Interference Coaching Tips

When ruling on batter interference, the plate umpire must distinguish if the catcher’s throw was to prevent a stolen base or to pick-off a runner on a base. He must consider the following:                                            Throw to Prevent a Stolen Base Any movement that hinders the catcher’s play can constitute batter interference. This is true […]

Blog

Rule of the Week: Follow Through Interference

Pro rules have nary a reference to follow through interference. Instead, it is referred to as “back swing” interference. The golfing world knows the difference. Follow through vs. back swing The follow through is the continuing movement of the bat after the ball is struck or missed – the completion of the swinging motion. The […]