April 28, 2022

Batter Hits Pitch with Follow Through

Small infraction, small penalty

Batter Hits Pitch with Follow Through

Follow through interference is when the batter swings and misses on a pitch, then either hits the baseball or the catcher on his follow through. On this play, the ball is dead unless the catcher can make a play and retire a runner. The batter is out only if it is strike three. No runner can advance on the play.

Have a question or comment for one of our experts?

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.