backswing interference

Expert Analysis

Play Ruled Dead Following Backswing Interference

Topics: Expert Analysis

The Phils and Nationals played at Nationals Park on September 30, 2022. In the bottom of the seventh, the Nationals had Luis Garcia on second and two outs. Victor Robles was batting with a 2-1 count facing Zach Eflin.  Robles swung through the pitch and made contact with Phils catcher J.T. Realmuto on his follow-through…

Expert Analysis

Backswing Interference

Topics: Expert Analysis

Backswing interference is sometimes called “follow-through” interference. It is covered under rule 6.03 (a) (3) and (4) Comment.  The penalty is not as severe as your traditional or regular batter interference when the batter’s missed swing takes him into the throwing lane of the catcher. When that occurs, the batter is out unless the runner…

Expert Analysis

Batter Hits Pitch with Follow Through

Topics: Batter Interference, Catcher, Interference
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

Follow Through Interference Professional & NCAA Rules

Topics: Batter, Batter Interference, Catcher, Interference, NCAA, Official Baseball Rules
Expert Analysis

Backswing Interference High School Rules (NFHS)

Topics: Batter, Batter Interference, Batter's Box, Interference, NFHS
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

Backswing Interference High School Rules (NFHS)

Topics: Uncategorized
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

Follow Through Interference High School Rules (NFHS)

Topics: Batter, Batter Interference, NFHS, Video - Batter
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

Follow Through Interference Pro & NCAA Rules

Topics: Base Awards, Batter Interference, Batter Runner
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

Did the Umpire Misinterpret Backswing Batter Interference?

Topics: Batter, Batter Interference, Catcher Interference, Interference, Latest News

In my opinion the umpire in the Blue Jays-Angels game on April 24 misinterpreted a backswing interference call that might have affected the outcome of the game in the Blue Jays 2-1 loss. There is a distinction between two types of batter interference covered in rule 6.03 (a) (3) and (4) Comment: For the sake…

Expert Analysis

Follow Through Interference

Topics: Batter, Batter Interference, Blog, Interference, NCAA, NFHS

Pro rules have nary a reference to follow through interference. Instead, it is referred to as “back swing” interference. The golfing world knows the difference. Follow through vs. back swing The follow through is the continuing movement of the bat after the ball is struck or missed – the completion of the swinging motion. The…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.