Base Awards Category Archive

Blog

A Bobble in Real Time is a Catch in Slo-Mo

What Happened? Rich Marazzi: The Marlins beat the Tigers 5-4 in 11 innings on Tuesday night. A costly overturn of a “no catch” on the field call could have contributed to the Tigers’ defeat. The Tigers were batting in the bottom of the ninth with runners on first and third and one out when Ronny […]

Blog

Base Award Chart – Balls Deflected Out of Play

Blog

Deflected Balls that Remain in Play (Part 3)

Deflected Batted Ball Strikes the Runner  Deflections make for knotty problems since they usually lead to right of way arguments.  Whenever a batted ball is deflected off the pitcher or another infielder into the path of the runner, one of three things can happen: The ball can remain alive and in play The runner can […]

Blog

Infield Throws and Pitched Balls That Deflect into Dead Ball Territory: Part II

In this Part II edition involving deflected balls, I’ll cover batted balls that deflect off infielders that go into dead ball territory and pitched balls that deflect off the catcher and go into dead ball territory. Unless noted, the Pro, NCAA and NFHS rule is the same. Ball Deflects Off Infielder and Lands in Dead […]

Blog

New Twists for Umpire Interference

Crazy Play That Happened in Dominican Republic Winter Ball The following play occurred in late November in a Dominican Republic winter league game between Gigantes and Toros. Gigantes had a runner on first when the batter hit a scorching line drive over the center fielder’s head. While the four umpires were rotating, the plate umpire […]

Blog

First Play or Second Play? Placing Runners is Tricky

According to rule 5.06 (G), when a wild throw by an infielder goes out of play or under a bench, the umpires must distinguish if it’s the “first play” or “second play” by the infielder. Remember, by rule, the fielding of a ground ball, line drive or fly ball is not the “first play.” What […]

Blog

Yankees Pitcher Charged for Type A Obstruction

The Yankees and White Sox played on July 5, 2016, at U.S. Cellular Field. The Yanks had Brett Gardner on second base in the top of the ninth with no outs when Ronald Torreyes hit a high chopper toward first base. White Sox pitcher Michael Ynoa ran toward the ball to make a play but […]

Blog

Red Sox Catcher Nabbed for Detached Equipment Rule Violation

You cannot assume your players know even the most basic rules. Take what happened at Fenway Park on May 1, 2018,  when the Red Sox hosted the Royals. In the top of the 10th inning with the score tied 3-3, the Royals had runners on first and second and two outs when Sox catcher Christian […]

Insider Report

Batted Ball Deflects off Pitcher and Umpire on Same Play

The Dayton Dragons (Reds) played the South Bend Cubs in a Class A Midwest League game this past August.  With a runner on first base, the batter hit a shot that deflected off the pitcher before striking the second base umpire. The ball then rolled to the shortstop near second base. The shortstop fielded the […]