Base Awards

Expert Analysis

Catcher’s Interference: A Potential Game-Changing Decision for a Manager

Topics: Appeal, Base, Base Awards, Baseline, Batter, Batter Interference, Catcher Interference, Coach, Expert Analysis, Interference, Manager, Official Baseball Rules, Placing Runners, protest, Quick Pitch, Rules Controversy, Umpire, Uncategorized

Perhaps the most impactful catcher’s interference call of the 2020 season occurred in the deciding game of the White Sox vs. A’s series in Oakland. With the score tied 4-4 in the bottom of the fifth, Tommy La Stella was batting for the A’s with Sean Murphy on first base and two outs when La…

Expert Analysis

What Happens After a Balk? (MLB/OBR Rules)

Topics: Balk, Base Awards, Batter Runner, Video - Pitcher
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

Base Awards on Throws from the Outfield

Topics: Base Awards, Batted Ball, Dead Ball Area, Deflected Ball, Uncategorized

The Blue Jays hosted the Rays on Aug. 16th when a base award issue emerged. In the top of the fifth, the Rays had Yandy Diaz on first and two outs when Ji-Man Choi hit a shot that went to the right field corner. Jays’ right fielder Teoscar Hernandez fielded the ball and fired it…

Expert Analysis

Over Throws from the Outfield and Base Awards

Topics: Base Awards, Dead Ball Area

When an outfielder makes a throw that goes into dead ball territory (DBT) such as the dugout or the stands, all runners are awarded two bases from the last base they touched at the moment the ball is released by the outfielder. Infield overthrows into DBT have a separate rule which I will cover in…

Expert Analysis

Follow Through Interference Pro & NCAA Rules

Topics: Base Awards, Batter Interference, Batter Runner
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

CHEAP STEAL OR A FREE BASE? 

Topics: Base Awards, Equipment, Lodged Ball, Placing Runners, Umpire

By Brady Hood In 1948, Kansas City outfielder Leon Culberson ran to second when a pitch missed the catchers mitt and got lodged in home plate umpire Harry King’s mask. Ultimately the umpires got together and ruled that the ball was still in play and Culberson was credited with a stolen base. So what would…

Expert Analysis

Ball gets lodged in outfield wall. What happens now?

Topics: Base Awards, Dead Ball Area, Expert Analysis, Lodged Ball, Official Baseball Rules, Replay Review

Lodged Baseballs Per rule 5.05 (a) (7), a ball is considered lodged if, in the judgment of the umpire, the natural trajectory of the flight of the ball is interrupted long enough to affect further play. A batted ball that sticks in a fence, scoreboard, shrubbery or vines located on the playing field should be…

Expert Analysis

Pitcher’s Wild Throw Goes Out of Play

Topics: Base Awards, Dead Ball Area, Official Baseball Rules, Pitcher, Pitcher Pick-offs, Placing Runners, Rule of the Week, Video - Pitcher
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

Crazy Sac Fly: Two Runs Score

Topics: Base Awards, Dead Ball Area, Dugout, Placing Runners, Video - Fielder
This is a video post.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.