Dead Ball Area Category Archive

Blog

Outfielder’s Throw is Deflected into Dead Ball Territory

Whenever a thrown, pitched, or batted ball is deflected into dead ball territory, umpires must be able to make the proper base award and coaches should be able to determine if the base award was proper. This can impact the outcome of a game. Thrown Ball Deflected into Dead Ball Territory Take what occurred when […]

Blog

Fan Catches Foul Ball, Fielder Steals Glove and is Awarded Catch!

On June 7, 2019, the Angels and Mariners played in Anaheim. M’s right fielder Domingo Santana made a catch in which he ended-up with two gloves. Here is what happened. Jonathan Lucroy led off the bottom of the fifth facing Marco Gonzales and hit a fly ball down the right field line that was caught […]

Blog

Dexter Fowler Catches Dead Ball for Last Out of Game “How does that happen?”

The Phillies were batting with two out in the 9th inning of their game with the St. Louis Cardinals, May 29, 2019, when Andrew McCutchen lofted a fly ball down the right field line. The ball drifted away from the field of play and into the stands when a fan reached up and touched the […]

Blog

Infield Throws and Pitched Balls That Deflect into Dead Ball Territory: Part II

In this Part II edition involving deflected balls, I’ll cover batted balls that deflect off infielders that go into dead ball territory and pitched balls that deflect off the catcher and go into dead ball territory. Unless noted, the Pro, NCAA and NFHS rule is the same. Ball Deflects Off Infielder and Lands in Dead […]

Blog

Deflected Balls Go Into Dead Ball Territory

Deflected Balls That Go into Dead Ball Territory: Part I This is the first of a three-part series involving rules that relate to pitched, thrown and batted balls that are deflected into dead ball territory or remain in play.  In this edition, I’ll cover deflections that go into dead ball territory on throws from the […]

Blog

What Do You Know? 9 Rules Questions from 2018

1. There’s a runner on first, catcher’s interference is called and the batter safely makes it to first as a result of the play. If the runner on first (after safely reaching second base), makes an attempt for third base during the play and gets thrown out, does the offensive coach have the option to […]

Blog

Bruce Bochy Knows the Rules!

Regarding throws from the infield that go out of play, umpires must determine if it the “first play” or “second play.”  By rule, when an infielder initially fields the ball, that is NOT A PLAY. The infielder’s “first play” is either: (1) a throw to a base (most common), (2) an attempted tag of a […]

Blog

Catcher’s Interference

On Sunday the Kansas City Royals and Houston Astros played at Minute Maid.  In the bottom of the second, Tony Kemp was batting with the bases loaded and one out when Kemp’s swing made contact with the mitt of Royals’ catcher Drew Butera.  Plate umpire Lance Barrett ruled the ball dead because it was a […]

Blog

9 Rules Questions Answered Here

1. Infield Fly Rule situation. The bases are loaded and one out when the batter hits a pop fly near first base in fair territory. The umpires invoke the IFR. The runner on first base, who is several feet off the bag, is tracking the fly ball instead of locating the first baseman who is […]

Blog

First Play or Second Play? Placing Runners is Tricky

According to rule 5.06 (G), when a wild throw by an infielder goes out of play or under a bench, the umpires must distinguish if it’s the “first play” or “second play” by the infielder. Remember, by rule, the fielding of a ground ball, line drive or fly ball is not the “first play.” What […]