Spectator Interference Category Archive

Insider Report

Fan on Field

The Mariners hosted the St. Louis Cardinals on June 25. In the top of the fifth inning, the Cardinals had runners on first and second and no outs when Mariners’ left fielder Seth Smith made a catch on a fly ball off the bat of Matt Carpenter just as a fan split between him and center fielder Leonys Martin. It was a bizarre sight. Since Smith made the catch, spectator interference was not called.

Insider Report

Spectator Interference

When spectator interference occurs, the umpires have the authority to place the batter and the runners at any base they judge would have been made had there been no interference. It’s possible that the umpires will award two bases to one runner while awarding only one base to another runner or the batter. The umpires […]

Insider Report

Manager Ejection for Arguing Replay Decision

Rangers’ manager Jeff Banister was ejected on Sunday, April 26, 2016 for arguing a call that had been reversed by instant replay when the Rangers and Angels met in Anaheim. Elvis Andrus, leading off the eighth inning, hit a foul ball down the right-field line that Kole Calhoun chased to the wall but couldn’t catch. […]

Insider Report

Spectator Interference

When spectator interference occurs, the umpires have the authority to place the batter and the runners at any base they judge would have been made had there been no interference. It’s possible that the umpires will award two bases to one runner while awarding only one base to another runner or the batter. The umpires […]