The Wild Pitch that Saved the Reds Win
Alexis Diaz was pitching for the Reds in the 10th inning of a one-run game. He had the tying run at 2B when he cut loose a wild pitch that bounded off the backstop and rolled into the Reds dugout. The runner from 2B roared around 3B and attempted to score but was sent back to 3B because of rule 5.06 (b) (4) (H). Since the ball was not deflected by the catcher into the DBT, the runner was awarded only one base. The wild, wild pitch, saved the win.
Rule 5.06 (b) (4) (H) states that one base is awarded also if the ball deflects off the catcher and goes into the dugout, so deflection by the catcher seams not an issue.