one base award Tag Archive

Blog

Bruce Bochy Knows the Rules!

Regarding throws from the infield that go out of play, umpires must determine if it the “first play” or “second play.”  By rule, when an infielder initially fields the ball, that is NOT A PLAY. The infielder’s “first play” is either: (1) a throw to a base (most common), (2) an attempted tag of a […]

Insider Report

WHEN A CATCHER DEFLECTS A PITCHED BALL

Catcher Deflections When a pitched ball caroms off the catcher and rolls into dead ball territory, the award for the runner/runners is one base from their position at the time the pitch was delivered unless the catcher kicks, pushes or deflects the ball into dead ball territory in which case the award becomes two bases […]