What happens if a player walks up to the batters box unannounced?
We have all seen pinch hitters enter the game where the standard protocol is followed: the manager comes out of the dugout and points out to the umpire that he has a new hitter entering the game, and the umpire points to the press box officially entering the player into the game. What happens if…
Franco Misses Home, Called Safe Anyway
Crazy Sac Fly: Two Runs Score
Proper Continuous Appeal at Home Plate Nabs Runner Who Missed Plate
This Runner is Out for Abandonment. (Pro Rules)
Infield Throws and Pitched Balls That Deflect into Dead Ball Territory: Part II
In this Part II edition involving deflected balls, I’ll cover batted balls that deflect off infielders that go into dead ball territory and pitched balls that deflect off the catcher and go into dead ball territory. Unless noted, the Pro, NCAA and NFHS rule is the same. Ball Deflects Off Infielder and Lands in Dead…
Bruce Bochy Knows the Rules!
Regarding throws from the infield that go out of play, umpires must determine if it the “first play” or “second play.” By rule, when an infielder initially fields the ball, that is NOT A PLAY. The infielder’s “first play” is either: (1) a throw to a base (most common), (2) an attempted tag of a…