April 23, 2022

What happens if a player walks up to the batters box unannounced?

Pinch hitter entering the batters box in baseball unannounced

What happens if a player walks up to the batters box unannounced?

We have all seen pinch hitters enter the game where the standard protocol is followed: the manager comes out of the dugout and points out to the umpire that he has a new hitter entering the game, and the umpire points to the press box officially entering the player into the game. What happens if a player walks up to the batters box unannounced? Major League Umpire, Ted Barrett, and Chris Welsh discuss the correct ruling on this play in a simple and easy to understand video.

Leave a Reply

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.