batter’s box Tag Archive

Blog

Hit By Pitch, Not So Simple

When a batter is hit by a pitch it is usually an easy call for the home plate umpire; dead ball, batter awarded first base and all runners who are forced advance one base. But what happens if the batter is not in the batter’s box? Or attempts to swing or offers to bunt the […]

Blog

MLB TO USE PITCH TIMER DURING ’19 SPRING TRAINING

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE February 22, 2019 MLB ANNOUNCES FORMAT OF PITCH TIMER DURING SPRING TRAINING Major League Baseball (MLB) today announced the format of a pitch timer that will be used during 2019 Spring Training games. No decision has been made on whether the timer will be used in regular season games. A 20-second pitch […]

Blog

Batter Taps Rolling Ball with Bat

    Normally, when you think of batter-runner interference, you think of the batter-runner who runs out of the 45-foot long, 3-foot wide runner’s box the last 45-feet and interferes with the fielder taking the throw. But batter-runner interference can occur long before the batter-runner reaches the box. Once the ball is batted into fair […]

Insider Report

Batter Interference Coaching Tips

When ruling on batter interference, the plate umpire must distinguish if the catcher’s throw was to prevent a stolen base or to pick-off a runner on a base. He must consider the following:                                            Throw to Prevent a Stolen Base Any movement that hinders the catcher’s play can constitute batter interference. This is true […]

Official Rules of Little League-Level Baseball

6.06 Batter Illegal Action

A batter is out for illegal action when – (a) hitting the ball with one or both feet on the ground entirely outside the batter’s box. A.R.— If a batter hits a ball fair or foul while out of the batter’s box, he/ she shall be called out. (b) stepping from one batter’s box to […]

Official Rules of Little League-Level Baseball

6.02 Batter’s Box

(a) The batter shall take a position in the batter’s box promptly when it is said batter’s time at bat. (b) The batter shall not leave that position in the batter’s box after the pitcher comes to Set Position, or starts a windup. PENALTY: If the pitcher pitches, the umpire shall call “Ball” or “Strike” […]

Insider Report

Carrasco Delivers an Illegal Pitch

The Mariners hosted the Indians on June 8, 2016. Kyle Seager was batting in the bottom of the fourth with a 1-2 count, two outs and the bases empty when he grounded out 3 unassisted. But the crew (Mike Muchlinski, John Hirschbeck, D.J.Reyburn and Bill Welke) met and, after about three minutes of discussion, correctly called […]

Insider Report

Pop-up Bunt: Batter Interferes with Catcher

It is imperative for the players to understand the “Right of Way” both offensively and defensively. A thorough understanding of that will prevent many interference and obstruction calls during the season. The Marlins and Pirates met at PNC Park on August 19 when Marlins’ pitcher Tom Koehler was called out for interfering with Pirates’ catcher […]