February 26, 2024

Batter Loses Bat and Makes Contact with Ball

Video to help understand what happens if a player makes contact with the ball after losing their bat

Batter Loses Bat and Makes Contact with Ball

This video shows you an example of a batter who loses his bat, but still makes contact with the ball. Which play is interference and which plays are a live ball in play?

Rich Marazzi

Rules consultant/analyst:  Angels, D’backs, Dodgers, Nationals, Orioles, Padres, Phillies, Pirates, Red Sox, Rangers, Royals, Tigers, Twins, White Sox, Yankees, Bally Sports, YES, and NBC Sports Chicago.  

Have a question or comment for one of our experts?

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.