batter loses bat

Expert Analysis

Batter Loses Bat and Makes Contact with Ball

Topics: Interference

This video shows you an example of a batter who loses his bat, but still makes contact with the ball. Which play is interference and which plays are a live ball in play? Rich Marazzi Rules consultant/analyst:  Angels, D’backs, Dodgers, Nationals, Orioles, Padres, Phillies, Pirates, Red Sox, Rangers, Royals, Tigers, Twins, White Sox, Yankees, Bally…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.