February 26, 2024

Batter Hit By Pitch NOT Awarded First Base

The batter must make an attempt to avoid getting hit by the pitch to get the base award

Batter Hit By Pitch NOT Awarded First Base

This video shows you an example of a batter not getting awarded first base simply because he did not make an attempt to avoid getting hit by the pitch.

Rich Marazzi

Rules consultant/analyst:  Angels, D’backs, Dodgers, Nationals, Orioles, Padres, Phillies, Pirates, Red Sox, Rangers, Royals, Tigers, Twins, White Sox, Yankees, Bally Sports, YES, and NBC Sports Chicago.  

Have a question or comment for one of our experts?

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.