February 17, 2024

Batter Interference and Backswing Interference

Video to help understand what is legal with a batter in the box and a catcher making a throw

Batter Interference and Backswing Interference

This video helps you understand batters interference, backswing interference and when a batter does NOT have to relinquish his position when a catcher is making a live throw into the field of play.

Rich Marazzi

Rules consultant/analyst:  Angels, D’backs, Dodgers, Nationals, Orioles, Padres, Phillies, Pirates, Red Sox, Rangers, Royals, Tigers, Twins, White Sox, Yankees, Bally Sports, YES, and NBC Sports Chicago.  

Have a question or comment for one of our experts?

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.