MLB Rules

Expert Analysis

The Right of Way

Topics: Expert Analysis

It’s imperative that players on both sides of the ball understand when they have the “Right of Way.” When a fielder is attempting to make a play, the runner must avoid him. And  when a defensive player does not have possession of the ball, or is not in the act of receiving a throw, the…

Expert Analysis

Protective Netting Issues

Topics: Expert Analysis

The Guardians and Mariners played at T-Mobile Park on August 28, 2022. In the bottom of the fifth, the M’s had runners on first and third with two outs when Dylan Moore hit a pop fly in foul territory near the netting on the outfield side of the first base dugout. Guardians’ first baseman Owen…

Expert Analysis

2022 MLB Examples of Obstruction

Topics: Obstruction

The Nats hosted the Phils on June 17th in the second game of a doubleheader. The game won by the Phils 8-7, was marred with controversy that led to the ejection of Nats’ manager Dave Martinez. In the top of the 10th inning with the score tied 6-6, the Phillies had Kyle Schwarber on third…

Expert Analysis

Rapid Fire Rules Questions with MLB Umpire Greg Gibson

Topics: Expert Analysis

MLB umpire Greg Gibson joins Cincinnati Reds broadcaster Chris Welsh for a series of rapid fire rules questions to help you better understand the rules of baseball in a fun way.

Expert Analysis

If a Pitcher Crosses the Foul Line, He Must Pitch to the First Batter

Topics: Expert Analysis, Pitcher, Rules Changes, Rules Controversy

Rule 5.10 (i) reads, “If a pitcher who is already in the game crosses the foul line on his way to take his place on the pitcher’s plate to start an inning, he shall pitch to the first batter until such batter is put out or reaches first base, unless the batter is substituted for,…

Expert Analysis

What Happened to the Baseline?

Topics: Baseline, Expert Analysis

Major League Baseball rules have changed and there is no such thing as a “baseline” anymore. Major League Umpire, Greg Gibson and Cincinnati Reds broadcaster, Chris Welsh explain how the rule is now about the runners “basepath” in a simple and easy to follow video.

Expert Analysis

What Happens After a Runner Misses Home Plate?

Topics: Uncategorized

What happens and what is allowed after a runner misses home plate? What is the umpires reaction when this happens? What happens if the defense does not notice? What happens if the runner represented the winning run of the game? Major League Umpire, Ted Barrett, and Chris Welsh breakdown these situations and explain this correct…

Expert Analysis

Type 2 Obstruction – Here’s What You need to Know

Topics: Appeal, Base Awards, Batter Runner, Expert Analysis, Famous Plays, Fielding, Interference, Obstruction, Rules Controversy, Runners Lane

Type 2 Obstruction (Ball Remains in Play) Under Type 2 obstruction, there is no play being directly made on the obstructed runner at the time of the obstruction. The ball is normally a long distance from the act of obstruction.  The umpire signals the obstruction by pointing to the obstruction and yelling “That’s obstruction.” This…

Expert Analysis

When a Batter Attempts to Induce a Balk

Topics: Balk, Batter's Box, Expert Analysis

It doesn’t happen often in baseball, but there have been occurrences where a batter is trying to create a balk by stepping out of the batters box while the pitcher is throwing a pitch. Major League Umpire, Ted Barrett, and Chris Welsh discuss the correct ruling on this play in a simple and easy to…

Expert Analysis

When Can Switch Hitter Change Batter’s Boxes?

Topics: Uncategorized
This is a video post.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.