Rules Controversy

Expert Analysis

If a Pitcher Crosses the Foul Line, He Must Pitch to the First Batter

Topics: Expert Analysis, Pitcher, Rules Changes, Rules Controversy

Rule 5.10 (i) reads, “If a pitcher who is already in the game crosses the foul line on his way to take his place on the pitcher’s plate to start an inning, he shall pitch to the first batter until such batter is put out or reaches first base, unless the batter is substituted for,…

Expert Analysis

6 Rules Questions Answered by Rich Marazzi

Topics: Expert Analysis, Rules Controversy, Runner Interference

Question #1 – Can Interference Be Unintentional  Q. In the April 30th, Jersey Shore BlueClaws (Phillies) vs Aberdeen IronBirds (Orioles) South Atlantic League game, the following play occurred. Should the batter have been called for interference? Aberdeen had Adley Rutschman on second, Coby Mayo on first with Jacob Teter at bat and less than two outs. Mick Abel was pitching for Jersey Shore…

Expert Analysis

Failing to Return to First Base

Topics: Base, Base Awards, Expert Analysis, Rules Controversy

The Orioles and A’s played in Oakland on April 21. In the top of the fourth inning Trey Mancini reached first base on an error. Once he got beyond first base, he collected himself, and turning his body toward second base he made a hop step. Walking back to the bag along the first-base line,…

Expert Analysis

What happens if a player walks up to the batters box unannounced?

Topics: Batter's Box, Coach, Dugout, Expert Analysis, Manager, Official Baseball Rules, Official Scorer, Rules Controversy

We have all seen pinch hitters enter the game where the standard protocol is followed: the manager comes out of the dugout and points out to the umpire that he has a new hitter entering the game, and the umpire points to the press box officially entering the player into the game. What happens if…

Expert Analysis

Type 2 Obstruction – Here’s What You need to Know

Topics: Appeal, Base Awards, Batter Runner, Expert Analysis, Famous Plays, Fielding, Interference, Obstruction, Rules Controversy, Runners Lane

Type 2 Obstruction (Ball Remains in Play) Under Type 2 obstruction, there is no play being directly made on the obstructed runner at the time of the obstruction. The ball is normally a long distance from the act of obstruction.  The umpire signals the obstruction by pointing to the obstruction and yelling “That’s obstruction.” This…

Expert Analysis

When does a fly ball stop being a fly ball?

Topics: Appeal, Batted Ball, Fielding, Replay Review, Rules Controversy

When is a Batted Ball No Longer “In Flight” The White Sox and Tigers played at Comerica this past Friday, April 8, 2022. In the bottom of the ninth the Tigers had Austin Meadows on third base and two outs when Javier Báez hit a shot to deep right-field that took right fielder AJ Pollock…

Expert Analysis

Christian Yelich Called Out After Overrunning 1B

Topics: Batter Runner, Rules Controversy, Runners, Uncategorized
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

Catcher’s Interference: A Potential Game-Changing Decision for a Manager

Topics: Appeal, Base, Base Awards, Baseline, Batter, Batter Interference, Catcher Interference, Coach, Expert Analysis, Interference, Manager, Official Baseball Rules, Placing Runners, protest, Quick Pitch, Rules Controversy, Umpire, Uncategorized

Perhaps the most impactful catcher’s interference call of the 2020 season occurred in the deciding game of the White Sox vs. A’s series in Oakland. With the score tied 4-4 in the bottom of the fifth, Tommy La Stella was batting for the A’s with Sean Murphy on first base and two outs when La…

Expert Analysis

Do-Overs in Baseball

Topics: Baseball Myths, Rules Controversy, Uncategorized

Ump Calls Time Before Pitch The most common “Do-Over” is when an umpire calls “Time” just before the pitcher delivers the pitch. Rule 8.03 (b) (2) empowers all umpires on the field to call “Time” for legal cause. An unexpected “Time” call once took away a win and a grand slam home run. In the…

Expert Analysis

IF THE ASTROS CHEATING SCANDAL HAPPENED IN HIGH SCHOOL

Topics: Latest News, NCAA, News, NFHS, Rules Controversy

  IF THE ASTROS CHEATING SCANDAL HAPPENED IN HIGH SCHOOL By Brady Hood and Rules Desk   As the fallout from the Houston Astro’s cheating scandal continues, one can wonder what effect, if any, will this have on amateur baseball at the high school level. This spring all over the country teams will take the…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.