October 29, 2025

Defensive Shift Violation

Royals Second Baseman Violates Shift Rule, Costs Team an Out vs. Mariners

Defensive Shift Violation

The Mariners and Royals played at Kauffman Stadium on September 18, 2025. In the top of the eighth, Dominic Canzone was facing Stephen Kolek with one out when he hit a ground ball to second baseman Michael Massey, who tossed to first baseman Vinnie Pasquantino for the apparent 4–3 out.

But Mariners manager Dan Wilson challenged the play, claiming Massey had a foot on the outfield grass before the pitch was delivered — a violation of the shift rule. The Replay Official agreed, and Canzone was awarded first base while Massey was charged with an error. Victor Robles pinch-ran for Canzone and subsequently scored in the Mariners’ 2–0 win.

Ruleball Comments

  • The shift rule, enacted in 2023, requires teams to have at least two infielders positioned on each side of second base, with all four infielders standing on the infield dirt at the time the pitch is delivered. Once the pitch is thrown, infielders may move without restriction.
  • In this play, Massey’s left foot — or the heel of his foot — was planted on the grass behind the infield dirt before the pitch was delivered.
  • Originally, the only penalty for a shift violation allowed the offensive manager to choose between taking the result of the play or awarding the batter one ball.
  • Under the new 2025 rule, however, when a shift violation occurs, the batter is automatically awarded first base, and any runner on base is awarded one base if the fielder who violated the rule is the first to touch a batted ball. The offensive manager still retains the option to decline the penalty and take the play instead.
  • For example, if Canzone had doubled on the play, Wilson would have taken the result of the play — the same option managers have when catcher’s interference occurs.
  • As stated above, under the new rule the offending infielder (Massey) is charged with an error, and the batter is not charged with a time at bat unless he hits safely.

“I’ve played for four years — never had it happen,” said Massey. “It’s on me… I know the rule. Can’t be in the grass. Whether the replay is conclusive or not, we kind of went through all that stuff last year, and I’ve got my opinions on it. It doesn’t help us in this situation. Reality is, that’s the rule, and I’ll be better.”


Rich Marazzi

Rules consultant/analyst: Angels, Dodgers, Mets, Nationals, Orioles, Padres, Phillies, Pirates, Red Sox, Rangers, Royals, Tigers, Twins, White Sox, Yankees, YES, and Chicago Sports Network

Have a question or comment for one of our experts?