Catcher Interference Category Archive

Blog

What Do You Know? 9 Rules Questions from 2018

1. There’s a runner on first, catcher’s interference is called and the batter safely makes it to first as a result of the play. If the runner on first (after safely reaching second base), makes an attempt for third base during the play and gets thrown out, does the offensive coach have the option to […]

Blog

Catcher’s Interference

On Sunday the Kansas City Royals and Houston Astros played at Minute Maid.  In the bottom of the second, Tony Kemp was batting with the bases loaded and one out when Kemp’s swing made contact with the mitt of Royals’ catcher Drew Butera.  Plate umpire Lance Barrett ruled the ball dead because it was a […]

Blog

11 Rules Questions that Need Answering Now

If a manager wants to challenge multiple situations in the same play, what is the proper way to have the field umpires communicate this to the Command Center?   The manager should tell the field umpires the situations he wants challenged. It should be done in layers at the same time. Does a tag attempt […]

Blog

Red Sox Catcher Nabbed for Detached Equipment Rule Violation

You cannot assume your players know even the most basic rules. Take what happened at Fenway Park on May 1, 2018,  when the Red Sox hosted the Royals. In the top of the 10th inning with the score tied 3-3, the Royals had runners on first and second and two outs when Sox catcher Christian […]

Blog

Did the Umpire Misinterpret Backswing Batter Interference?

In my opinion the umpire in the Blue Jays-Angels game on April 24 misinterpreted a backswing interference call that might have affected the outcome of the game in the Blue Jays 2-1 loss. There is a distinction between two types of batter interference covered in rule 6.03 (a) (3) and (4) Comment: For the sake […]

Official Rules of NCAA-Level Baseball

NCAA 7-4h

A strike is awarded if the batter attempts to create catcher’s interference. He is out if the interference is deliberate, immediate dead ball, base runners return to base occupied at TOP. [OBR Interpretation: If this occurs, the ball is dead and no runners can advance. If the swing hits the catcher, the batter is ejected […]

Blog

Rule of the Week – Catcher Interference Won’t Always Stop the Show

How should an umpire respond to catcher interference? Watch the video!   This week we’re discussing catcher interference. Catcher interference is when a batter swings and touches the catcher’s glove. The umpire points and calls out, “that’s catcher interference” – but the ball remains alive and the play develops! If the batter gets a base […]

Insider Report

Complicated Play: Simultaneous Balk and Interference

If you have a balk, and in the running of the bases there is interference or obstruction, how is that handled? Infractions are all enforced with priority going in the order they happened. We had a good example play one time at Brinkman’s umpire school. We had one classroom rule: any play the students asked […]