batter interference

Expert Analysis

What Happens After a Ball Touches the Bat Twice?

Topics: Batter Interference, Expert Analysis

There are a lot of different scenarios where a ball can be touched by bat twice in different ways which can determine if a player is out, safe or there is interference called. MLB umpire Ted Barrett breaks down these scenarios with Cincinnati Reds broadcaster Chris Welsh in a simple and easy to follow video…

Expert Analysis

Batter Hits Pitch with Follow Through

Topics: Batter Interference, Catcher, Interference
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

Batter Drops Bat (no intentional interference), Ball Rolls into the Bat then Trickles into Foul Territory

Topics: Batted Ball, Batter, Batter Interference, Fair Territory, Foul Territory
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

Catcher’s Interference: A Potential Game-Changing Decision for a Manager

Topics: Appeal, Base, Base Awards, Baseline, Batter, Batter Interference, Catcher Interference, Coach, Expert Analysis, Interference, Manager, Official Baseball Rules, Placing Runners, protest, Quick Pitch, Rules Controversy, Umpire, Uncategorized

Perhaps the most impactful catcher’s interference call of the 2020 season occurred in the deciding game of the White Sox vs. A’s series in Oakland. With the score tied 4-4 in the bottom of the fifth, Tommy La Stella was batting for the A’s with Sean Murphy on first base and two outs when La…

Expert Analysis

Dropped Strike Three Confusion

Topics: Batter Interference, Batter Runner, Dead Ball Area, Interference, Official Baseball Rules, Umpire Manual Rules, Video - Batter
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

Batter Attempts to Help Catcher But is Called Out!

Topics: Batter, Batter Interference

Carlos Correa was batting at Minute Maid Park on April 23, 2019, when the Astros hosted the Twins.  It was the bottom of the seventh with runners on first and second and two outs when a Tyler Duffy pitch bounced in the dirt. The ball then caromed off catcher Mitch Garver and skipped toward the…

Expert Analysis

Batter Interferes With Catcher’s Throw – Two MLB Examples

Topics: Batter, Batter Interference, Batter's Box, Interference, Latest News, Manager, Manager Ejection, Runners, Umpire

Two Batter Interference plays that occurred six days apart are worth a look. Play Number 1 On August 31, 2017, the Astros hosted the Rangers at Tropicana Field in Florida because of Hurricane Harvey.  In the bottom of the first, the Astros had George Springer on first base and no outs when Alex Bregman swung…

Expert Analysis

Batter Taps Rolling Ball with Bat Called Out

Topics: Baseline, Batted Ball, Batter, Batter Interference, Batter's Box, Fair Territory, Latest News

      Normally, when you think of batter-runner interference, you think of the batter-runner who runs out of the 45-foot long, 3-foot wide runner’s box the last 45-feet and interferes with the fielder taking the throw. But batter-runner interference can occur long before the batter-runner reaches the box. Once the ball is batted into…

  • 1
  • 2

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.