Batter Category Archive

Blog

Batter Cannot Cause Balk – MLB Umpire Misses the Call

Batter’s Actions Cause Pitcher to Balk On July 11, 2017, the Rockies hosted the D’backs. In the bottom of second, the Rockies had Ian Desmond on first and Gerardo Parra on third with two outs and Tony Wolters at bat facing Jorge De La Rosa. Wolters asked for a “late” time out which was not […]

Blog

Dodgers and Angels Players Ignore Umpires…What Happens Next is Chaos

The Onus is on the Defensive Team not to Play on a Retired Runner The Dodgers and Angels played in Anaheim on July 6th.  In the top of the sixth the Dodgers had Justin Turner on second and Cody Bellinger on first with one out when Matt Kemp singled to left scoring Turner.  Justin Upton […]

Blog

Catcher’s Interference

On Sunday the Kansas City Royals and Houston Astros played at Minute Maid.  In the bottom of the second, Tony Kemp was batting with the bases loaded and one out when Kemp’s swing made contact with the mitt of Royals’ catcher Drew Butera.  Plate umpire Lance Barrett ruled the ball dead because it was a […]

Blog

Batter Interferes With Catcher’s Throw

Two Batter Interference plays that occurred six days apart are worth a look. Play Number 1 On August 31st the Astros hosted the Rangers at Tropicana Field in Florida because of Hurricane Harvey.  In the bottom of the first, the Astros had George Springer on first base and no outs when Alex Bregman swung through […]

Blog

Batter Taps Rolling Ball with Bat

    Normally, when you think of batter-runner interference, you think of the batter-runner who runs out of the 45-foot long, 3-foot wide runner’s box the last 45-feet and interferes with the fielder taking the throw. But batter-runner interference can occur long before the batter-runner reaches the box. Once the ball is batted into fair […]

Blog

11 Rules Questions that Need Answering Now

If a manager wants to challenge multiple situations in the same play, what is the proper way to have the field umpires communicate this to the Command Center?   The manager should tell the field umpires the situations he wants challenged. It should be done in layers at the same time. Does a tag attempt […]

Blog

Did the Umpire Misinterpret Backswing Batter Interference?

In my opinion the umpire in the Blue Jays-Angels game on April 24 misinterpreted a backswing interference call that might have affected the outcome of the game in the Blue Jays 2-1 loss. There is a distinction between two types of batter interference covered in rule 6.03 (a) (3) and (4) Comment: For the sake […]

Blog

MLB Postseason Riddled with Rules Controversies

Why Didn’t Dusty Baker Protest Follow-Through Interference? Did Yankees Gary Sanchez Violate a Rule on the Final Out of the Game? Was that Interference on Carlos Correa that Allowed the Winning Run to Score?   Expert Rules Analysis Here CONTROVERSY #1 In the most important game played by the Nationals all year long could the […]

Blog

Batter Offers at Pitch and is Touched by Ball

This much we know: When a batter attempts to hit a pitch, whether a full swing, check swing or bunt attempt, it is a strike. But what happens when that batter attempts to hit or bunt the pitch and is then struck by the pitch? Is the batter awarded first base? Can runners advance? Can […]