Batter

Expert Analysis

The George Brett Pine Tar Game was not the First Pine Tar Game

Topics: Batter, Ejection, protest, Umpire, Uncategorized

It was a steamy July day in New York and George Brett was on fire. He had just stroked a Goose Gossage four-seamer into the Yankee Stadium bleachers for a dramatic two out, ninth inning, home run that put the Royals up 5-4. The Yankees manager, Billy Martin, decided to protest the home run based…

Expert Analysis

When a ball off the wall is really a home run.

Topics: Base Awards, Batted Ball, Batter, Placing Runners, Replay Review, Uncategorized

Play #1 After review, Kipnis’ Home Run becomes a triple The Tigers and Indians played in Cleveland on Friday, June 21, 2019. In the bottom of the eighth, the Indians had a runner on first base and no outs when Jason Kipnis hit a ball that was originally ruled a home run by second base…

Expert Analysis

Batter Attempts to Help Catcher But is Called Out!

Topics: Batter, Batter Interference

Carlos Correa was batting at Minute Maid Park on April 23, 2019, when the Astros hosted the Twins.  It was the bottom of the seventh with runners on first and second and two outs when a Tyler Duffy pitch bounced in the dirt. The ball then caromed off catcher Mitch Garver and skipped toward the…

Expert Analysis

Hit By Pitch, Not So Simple

Topics: Batter, Batter's Box, Hit By Pitch, Uncategorized

When a batter is hit by a pitch it is usually an easy call for the home plate umpire; dead ball, batter awarded first base and all runners who are forced advance one base. But what happens if the batter is not in the batter’s box? Or attempts to swing or offers to bunt the…

Expert Analysis

Broadcasters Call Machado Play “Bush League.” But is it Interference?

Topics: Batter, Batter Interference, Batter Runner, Batter's Box, Catcher, Definitions, Interference, Manager Ejection, Runner Interference, Uncategorized

Diamondback Announcers did not hold back on their opinion of Manny Machado and his controversial play in San Diego versus the Padres, Tuesday, April 2, 2019. “It’s such an unnecessary thing, to say the least” Brenly said. “Obviously, it could create a potential injury. You drop a bat next to a guy who’s looking up…

Expert Analysis

MLB TO USE PITCH TIMER DURING ’19 SPRING TRAINING

Topics: Batter, Batter's Box, Blog, Manager, News, Rule changes 2019, Rules Changes, Umpire

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE February 22, 2019 MLB ANNOUNCES FORMAT OF PITCH TIMER DURING SPRING TRAINING Major League Baseball (MLB) today announced the format of a pitch timer that will be used during 2019 Spring Training games. No decision has been made on whether the timer will be used in regular season games. A 20-second pitch…

Expert Analysis

Can a batter hit a pitched ball that has bounced in the dirt?

Topics: Batted Ball, Batter, Latest News

If a pitcher bounces the ball in the dirt, can a batter hit the pitch legally? Yes. This is treated like any other pitch. The ball can be batted and if the batter is touched by the bounced pitch, he is awarded first base on a hit by pitch. But a pitch that bounces on…

Expert Analysis

Batter Cannot Cause Balk – MLB Umpire Misses the Call

Topics: Balk, Batter, Latest News, Pitcher, Umpire

Batter’s Actions Cause Pitcher to Balk On July 11, 2017, the Rockies hosted the D’backs. In the bottom of second, the Rockies had Ian Desmond on first and Gerardo Parra on third with two outs and Tony Wolters at bat facing Jorge De La Rosa. Wolters asked for a “late” time out which was not…

Expert Analysis

Dodgers and Angels Players Ignore Umpires…What Happens Next is Chaos

Topics: Baseline, Batted Ball, Batter, Catcher, Fair Territory, Fielding, Latest News, Official Baseball Rules, Pitcher, Placing Runners, Rule of the Week, Rules Controversy, Runners Passing Runners, Umpire

The Onus is on the Defensive Team not to Play on a Retired Runner The Dodgers and Angels played in Anaheim on July 6th.  In the top of the sixth the Dodgers had Justin Turner on second and Cody Bellinger on first with one out when Matt Kemp singled to left scoring Turner.  Justin Upton…

Expert Analysis

Catcher’s Interference

Topics: Batted Ball, Batter, Batter's Box, Blog, Catcher, Catcher Interference, Dead Ball Area, Definitions, Equipment, Expert Analysis, Fair Territory, Fielding, Interference, Latest News, Manager, Obstruction, Official Baseball Rules, Rule of the Week, Rules Controversy, Umpire

On Sunday the Kansas City Royals and Houston Astros played at Minute Maid.  In the bottom of the second, Tony Kemp was batting with the bases loaded and one out when Kemp’s swing made contact with the mitt of Royals’ catcher Drew Butera.  Plate umpire Lance Barrett ruled the ball dead because it was a…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.