Placing Runners

Expert Analysis

Runner hit by batted ball…..is the runner always out?

Topics: Base Awards, Deflected Ball, Expert Analysis, Placing Runners, Runner Interference, Runners

When a runner is hit by a batted ball, he is not always out. Umpires must assess the situation and apply the proper rule. The most common form of this violation is when a runner is struck by a batted ball in front an infielder and impedes him from making a play.  The runner is…

Expert Analysis

It is Obstruction on the Pitcher?

Topics: Base Awards, Batter Runner, Fielding, Obstruction, Pitcher, Placing Runners
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

Is this Obstruction on the Pitcher?

Topics: Batter Runner, Fielding, Obstruction, Pitcher, Placing Runners, Runners
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

Outfielder Throws His Glove at a Batted Ball

Topics: Base Awards, Fielding, Placing Runners, Video - Fielder
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

Umpire Calls “Time” While Runner Sprints Toward Home

Topics: Base Awards, Placing Runners, Umpire, Uncategorized

Umpires are allowed to call “Time” under many conditions. But when should an umpire be prohibited from calling “Time?” The top of the ninth inning of the Yankees-Dodgers game at Dodger Stadium on Saturday turned into one of the most bizarre half innings of the season as multiple rules surfaced on the same play. When…

Expert Analysis

Marisnick Lucroy Brutal Collision Legal or Not?

Topics: Baseline, Catcher, Home Plate Collision, Placing Runners, Replay Review, Uncategorized

Marisnick/Lucroy Collision at the Plate Perhaps the most egregious runner/catcher collision of the 2019 season occurred in the Angels-Astros game on July 7, in Houston, when the Astros’ Jake Marisnick ran over Angels’ catcher Jonathan Lucroy. With the game tied at 10-10 and one out in the bottom of the eighth, Angels’ reliever Hansel Robles…

Expert Analysis

When a ball off the wall is really a home run.

Topics: Base Awards, Batted Ball, Batter, Placing Runners, Replay Review, Uncategorized

Play #1 After review, Kipnis’ Home Run becomes a triple The Tigers and Indians played in Cleveland on Friday, June 21, 2019. In the bottom of the eighth, the Indians had a runner on first base and no outs when Jason Kipnis hit a ball that was originally ruled a home run by second base…

Expert Analysis

Infield Throws and Pitched Balls That Deflect into Dead Ball Territory: Part II

Topics: Base Awards, Catcher, Dead Ball Area, Dugout, Placing Runners

In this Part II edition involving deflected balls, I’ll cover batted balls that deflect off infielders that go into dead ball territory and pitched balls that deflect off the catcher and go into dead ball territory. Unless noted, the Pro, NCAA and NFHS rule is the same. Ball Deflects Off Infielder and Lands in Dead…

Expert Analysis

Deflected Balls Go Into Dead Ball Territory

Topics: Batted Ball, Dead Ball Area, Foul Territory, Placing Runners, Placing Runners, Uncategorized

Deflected Balls That Go into Dead Ball Territory: Part I This is the first of a three-part series involving rules that relate to pitched, thrown and batted balls that are deflected into dead ball territory or remain in play.  In this edition, I’ll cover deflections that go into dead ball territory on throws from the…

Expert Analysis

New Twists for Umpire Interference

Topics: Base Awards, Placing Runners, Umpire, Umpire Interference, Uncategorized

  Crazy Play That Happened in Dominican Republic Winter Ball The following play occurred in late November in a Dominican Republic winter league game between Gigantes and Toros. Gigantes had a runner on first when the batter hit a scorching line drive over the center fielder’s head. While the four umpires were rotating, the plate…

  • 1
  • 2

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.