Batter

Expert Analysis

Batter Interferes With Catcher’s Throw – Two MLB Examples

Topics: Batter, Batter Interference, Batter's Box, Interference, Latest News, Manager, Manager Ejection, Runners, Umpire

Two Batter Interference plays that occurred six days apart are worth a look. Play Number 1 On August 31, 2017, the Astros hosted the Rangers at Tropicana Field in Florida because of Hurricane Harvey.  In the bottom of the first, the Astros had George Springer on first base and no outs when Alex Bregman swung…

Expert Analysis

Batter Taps Rolling Ball with Bat Called Out

Topics: Baseline, Batted Ball, Batter, Batter Interference, Batter's Box, Fair Territory, Latest News

      Normally, when you think of batter-runner interference, you think of the batter-runner who runs out of the 45-foot long, 3-foot wide runner’s box the last 45-feet and interferes with the fielder taking the throw. But batter-runner interference can occur long before the batter-runner reaches the box. Once the ball is batted into…

Expert Analysis

11 Rules Questions that Need Answering Now

Topics: Balk, Batter, Catcher, Catcher Interference, Definitions, Expert Analysis, Home Plate Collision, Interference, Latest News, Obstruction, Official Baseball Rules, Pitcher, Pitcher Pick-offs, Rules Controversy, Runner Interference, Runners, Substitutions

If a manager wants to challenge multiple situations in the same play, what is the proper way to have the field umpires communicate this to the Command Center?   The manager should tell the field umpires the situations he wants challenged. It should be done in layers at the same time. Does a tag attempt…

Expert Analysis

Did the Umpire Misinterpret Backswing Batter Interference?

Topics: Batter, Batter Interference, Catcher Interference, Interference, Latest News

In my opinion the umpire in the Blue Jays-Angels game on April 24 misinterpreted a backswing interference call that might have affected the outcome of the game in the Blue Jays 2-1 loss. There is a distinction between two types of batter interference covered in rule 6.03 (a) (3) and (4) Comment: For the sake…

Expert Analysis

MLB Postseason Riddled with Rules Controversies

Topics: Batter, Batter Interference, Catcher, Interference, Runner Interference

  Why Didn’t Dusty Baker Protest Follow-Through Interference? Did Yankees Gary Sanchez Violate a Rule on the Final Out of the Game? Was that Interference on Carlos Correa that Allowed the Winning Run to Score?   Expert Rules Analysis Here CONTROVERSY #1 In the most important game played by the Nationals all year long could…

Expert Analysis

Batter is Hit by Pitch During Bunt Attempt

Topics: Batter, Hit By Pitch

  This much we know: When a batter attempts to hit a pitch, whether a full swing, check swing or bunt attempt, it is a strike. But what happens when that batter attempts to hit or bunt the pitch and is then struck by the pitch? Is the batter awarded first base? Can runners advance?…

Expert Analysis

Bat Interference – ball bounces off bat laying in foul territory and rolls into fair territory

Topics: Batter, Batter Interference, Fair Territory, Foul Territory, Interference
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

Something You Probably Don’t Know: The Difference Between a Foul Tip and Foul Ball

Topics: Batter, Catcher, Foul Territory, Official Baseball Rules, Rule of the Week, Umpire

Most baseball fans incorrectly use the terms foul ball and foul tip interchangeably. For those who make this mistake, it might simply be a case of careless use of words… or it could be something more serious: a fuzzy understanding of basic baseball rules. So what is the main difference between a foul tip and…

Expert Analysis

Follow Through Interference

Topics: Batter, Batter Interference, Blog, Interference, NCAA, NFHS

Pro rules have nary a reference to follow through interference. Instead, it is referred to as “back swing” interference. The golfing world knows the difference. Follow through vs. back swing The follow through is the continuing movement of the bat after the ball is struck or missed – the completion of the swinging motion. The…

Expert Analysis

Did a Veteran Player Forget This Basic Rule?

Topics: Batter, Catcher, Infield Fly, Runners

Runner on First Attempts to Go to Second Base on Dropped Third Strike When a batter strikes out on a dropped third strike and first base is occupied with less than two outs, the batter is automatically out. The rule is a close cousin of the Infield Fly rule. It is designed to protect the…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.