Batter’s Box

Hit By Pitch, Not So Simple

When a batter is hit by a pitch it is usually an easy call for the home plate umpire; dead ball, batter awarded first base and all runners who are forced advance one base. But what happens if the batter is not in the batter’s box? Or attempts to swing or offers to bunt the…

Broadcasters Call Machado Play “Bush League.” But is it Interference?

Diamondback Announcers did not hold back on their opinion of Manny Machado and his controversial play in San Diego versus the Padres, Tuesday, April 2, 2019. “It’s such an unnecessary thing, to say the least” Brenly said. “Obviously, it could create a potential injury. You drop a bat next to a guy who’s looking up…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.