April 23, 2022

Overrunning First Base – What Can a Runner Do?

What constitutes a move towards second base?

Overrunning First Base – What Can a Runner Do?

Chris Welsh and MLB Umpire, Ted Barrett discuss the fine points of the rule about a batter runner tagging 1B and making a move toward 2B. What constitutes a move to 2B? If the runner first turns right and then makes a movement toward second while in foul territory, does that put him in jeopardy? OBR 5.09(b)(11)

Leave a Reply

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.