wild pitch Tag Archive

Insider Report

When Must the Batter Leave the Batter’s box?

Once a batter puts a pitch in play, he is no longer considered a batter; he is a runner. He has no right to linger around the batter’s box. But what about his rights to stay in the box on a wild pitch or passed ball? What if he misses the pitch on a suicide […]

Video Library

Bunt on a Wild Pitch

When a batter is in a bunting position with his bat extended over the plate and the pitcher delivers a wild pitch nowhere near the strike zone but the batter never pulls the bat back, is it a strike on the batter? No, it is a strike on the batter only if he makes an attempt to make contact with the pitch. Sometimes the home plate umpire will need to ask a base umpire for help to determine if the batter actually attempted to make contact with the pitch.