December 12, 2019

Dropped Strike Three Confusion

When a batter interferes with the catcher after a dropped third strike, he is declared out, the ball is dead, and all runners return to the base previously occupied at the time of the pitch. Intent does not matter in this case.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.