Base Awards

Expert Analysis

A Bobble in Real Time is a Catch in Slo-Mo

Topics: Base Awards, Definitions, Expert Analysis, Manager Ejection, Rule changes 2019, Rules Controversy, Umpire Manual Rules, Uncategorized

What Happened? Rich Marazzi: The Marlins beat the Tigers 5-4 in 11 innings on Tuesday night. A costly overturn of a “no catch” on the field call could have contributed to the Tigers’ defeat. The Tigers were batting in the bottom of the ninth with runners on first and third and one out when Ronny…

Expert Analysis

Base Award Chart – Balls Deflected Out of Play

Topics: Base Awards, Batter's Box, Placing Runners, Uncategorized
Expert Analysis

Base Award Chart – Thrown Ball

Topics: Base Awards, Placing Runners, Uncategorized
Expert Analysis

Deflected Balls that Remain in Play (Part 3)

Topics: Base Awards, Deflected Ball, Obstruction, Runner Interference, Runners, Uncategorized

Deflected Batted Ball Strikes the Runner  Deflections make for knotty problems since they usually lead to right of way arguments.  Whenever a batted ball is deflected off the pitcher or another infielder into the path of the runner, one of three things can happen: The ball can remain alive and in play The runner can…

Expert Analysis

Infield Throws and Pitched Balls That Deflect into Dead Ball Territory: Part II

Topics: Base Awards, Catcher, Dead Ball Area, Dugout, Placing Runners

In this Part II edition involving deflected balls, I’ll cover batted balls that deflect off infielders that go into dead ball territory and pitched balls that deflect off the catcher and go into dead ball territory. Unless noted, the Pro, NCAA and NFHS rule is the same. Ball Deflects Off Infielder and Lands in Dead…

Expert Analysis

New Twists for Umpire Interference

Topics: Base Awards, Placing Runners, Umpire, Umpire Interference, Uncategorized

  Crazy Play That Happened in Dominican Republic Winter Ball The following play occurred in late November in a Dominican Republic winter league game between Gigantes and Toros. Gigantes had a runner on first when the batter hit a scorching line drive over the center fielder’s head. While the four umpires were rotating, the plate…

Expert Analysis

First Play or Second Play? Placing Runners is Tricky

Topics: Base Awards, Dead Ball Area, Latest News, Manager Ejection, Placing Runners, Placing Runners, Runners

According to rule 5.06 (G), when a wild throw by an infielder goes out of play or under a bench, the umpires must distinguish if it’s the “first play” or “second play” by the infielder. Remember, by rule, the fielding of a ground ball, line drive or fly ball is not the “first play.” What…

Expert Analysis

Yankees’ Pitcher Charged for Type A Obstruction

Topics: Base Awards, Latest News, Obstruction, Pitcher, Runners

The Yankees and White Sox played on July 5, 2016, at U.S. Cellular Field. The Yanks had Brett Gardner on second base in the top of the ninth with no outs when Ronald Torreyes hit a high chopper toward first base. White Sox pitcher Michael Ynoa ran toward the ball to make a play but…

Expert Analysis

Red Sox Catcher Nabbed for Detached Equipment Rule Violation

Topics: Balk, Base Awards, Batter's Box, Catcher, Catcher Interference, Equipment, Latest News, Official Baseball Rules

You cannot assume your players know even the most basic rules. Take what happened at Fenway Park on May 1, 2018,  when the Red Sox hosted the Royals. In the top of the 10th inning with the score tied 3-3, the Royals had runners on first and second and two outs when Sox catcher Christian…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.