April 8, 2022

What Happens When a Batter/Runner Overruns First Base on Walk?

Can he be tagged out?

What Happens When a Batter/Runner Overruns First Base on Walk?

A base on balls entitles the batter to go to first base. But is the batter, now a batter/runner permitted to overrun 1B like he can if he has a base hit? This is one of the most misunderstood rules in baseball. It is time you learned it once and for all. Chris Welsh and MLB Umpire, Ted Barrett, discuss this play so you can be a better player, coach or fan.

Leave a Reply

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.