May 15, 2022

Luis Castillo “No-Step Balk”

Luis Castillo “No-Step Balk”

While pitching against the Pittsburgh Pirates on May 14, 2022, Reds pitcher, Luis Castillo was called for a “no-step” balk. Home plate umpire, Lance Barrett, saw the infraction when Castillo failed to step towards first base on a pick-off throw. The balk cost the Reds a run in a game they eventually lost, 3 – 1 to the Pirates.


J.D. Leenen

dg, you are right


I agree with the balk call. In real time this is not a distinct step-off then throw – it appears to be a jump move without the step thus balk. In slo mo we see the first move is with the free foot moving backwards first and then then step off then throw – still a balk since free foot moved first.

J.D. Leenen

I disagree with the balk call. Castillo clearly steps off the rubber with his pivot foot, therefore has become a fielder without the obligation to make a clear step towards 1B.

Have a question or comment for one of our experts?

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.