May 15, 2022

Runner Not Out When Hit By Batted Ball

Situation where a baserunner is not ruled out when hit by a batted ball

Runner Not Out When Hit By Batted Ball

We all know that a runner is ruled out when they are hit by a batted ball, but are there any situations where a runner might not be ruled out? Major League Umpire, Ted Barrett, and Chris Welsh breakdown a unique situation where a batter could be ruled out in a simple and easy to follow video. It pays to know the rules of baseball!



I had a play like this when I was umpiring one time pretty much the exact scenario first baseman was playing in front of the bag ball hit over their head and hit the runner going to second I made the right call and had a coach question my call and explained the rule to him and he accepted it

Have a question or comment for one of our experts?

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.