balk

Expert Analysis

Three Balks in the Same Inning!

Topics: Expert Analysis

Rule 6.02 (a) (13) reads, “If there is a runner or runners on base, it is a balk when the pitcher delivers the pitch from Set Position without coming to a stop.” Just when you think you’ve seen everything… In the bottom of the eighth inning of the Marlins-Mets game on September 27, 2022 at…

Expert Analysis

Five Questions about Balks Answered by Rich Marazzi

Topics: Balk, Expert Analysis

When a pitcher balks followed by a throw to a base or a pitch to the batter, or pitches a “Ball Four,” there are many questions that need to be answered. This creates a challenge for the players, coaching staff, manager, and broadcasters. Keep in mind, when a pitcher balks, the ball is not always…

Expert Analysis

David Ross Ejected for Arguing Double Set (Balk)

Topics: Balk

The Mets and Cubs played at Wrigley on July 14th. In the bottom of the fourth inning the Cubs had Nico Hoerner on first base with two outs when Cubs manager David Ross claimed that Mets pitcher Carlos Carrasco was making a double Set which is a balk. Ross argued with third base ump John…

Expert Analysis

Walk Off Balk!

Topics: Balk

The Reds were batting in the bottom of the tenth with the score tied 1-1 on July 8, 2022. Tyler Naquin was facing Matt Wisler with runners on first and third and one out when Edwin Moscoso called a balk on Wisler. Mark Kolozsvary, the runner on third, scored the winning run on the play….

Expert Analysis

Luis Castillo “No-Step Balk”

Topics: Balk, Base Awards, Pitcher, Pitcher Pick-offs
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

Faking a Throw to Third and Throwing to First Base

Topics: Balk, Expert Analysis, Rules Changes

One of the recent rules changes in the past decade is that pitchers are no longer allowed to fake a throw to third base, and then turn around and try to pick off a runner on first base. Major League Umpire, Ted Barrett, and Chris Welsh breakdown these situations and explain this correct rule in…

Expert Analysis

When a Batter Attempts to Induce a Balk

Topics: Balk, Batter's Box, Expert Analysis

It doesn’t happen often in baseball, but there have been occurrences where a batter is trying to create a balk by stepping out of the batters box while the pitcher is throwing a pitch. Major League Umpire, Ted Barrett, and Chris Welsh discuss the correct ruling on this play in a simple and easy to…

Expert Analysis

Reds’ Pitcher Steps Off Rubber and Delivers a Pitch…Is That Legal?

Topics: Balk, Pitcher, Uncategorized
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

Catcher’s Interference: A Potential Game-Changing Decision for a Manager

Topics: Appeal, Base, Base Awards, Baseline, Batter, Batter Interference, Catcher Interference, Coach, Expert Analysis, Interference, Manager, Official Baseball Rules, Placing Runners, protest, Quick Pitch, Rules Controversy, Umpire, Uncategorized

Perhaps the most impactful catcher’s interference call of the 2020 season occurred in the deciding game of the White Sox vs. A’s series in Oakland. With the score tied 4-4 in the bottom of the fifth, Tommy La Stella was batting for the A’s with Sean Murphy on first base and two outs when La…

Expert Analysis

What Happens After a Balk? (MLB/OBR Rules)

Topics: Balk, Base Awards, Batter Runner, Video - Pitcher
This is a video post.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.