Blog

Must a Runner Slide When Attempting to Break Up a Double Play?

 Under professional rules (OBR): NO

There is no requirement that a runner must slide when trying to beak-up a DP.  In the game between Tampa Bay and San Francisco on April 5, 2019, the Giants’ Yangervis Solarte did not slide into second base on an attempted DP and no interference was called after a Rays challenge.

 

Click this link to see this entire video:

https://www.mlb.com/video/no-interference-ruled-on-slide

 

Coming soon: We're working to bring you related content across this site.