second base Tag Archive

Blog

Must a Runner Slide When Attempting to Break Up a Double Play?

 Under professional rules (OBR): NO There is no requirement that a runner must slide when trying to beak-up a DP.  In the game between Tampa Bay and San Francisco on April 5, 2019, the Giants’ Yangervis Solarte did not slide into second base on an attempted DP and no interference was called after a Rays […]

Insider Report

Q&A: Pitcher Throwing to 2nd Bases

Q. Runners on first and third, two outs and a 3-2 count on the batter. A right-handed pitcher is throwing from the stretch. As he lifts his front leg, the runner on first takes off to second. The pitcher then makes an inside move and throws the baseball to the shortstop covering second base. The […]