October 21, 2025

Understanding “Time of the Pitch” in Baseball: How Umpires Determine Base Awards

Breaking down MLB rules on when runners are awarded bases — featuring real-game examples from Yankees vs. Nationals and Rays vs. Red Sox.

Understanding “Time of the Pitch” in Baseball: How Umpires Determine Base Awards

There are several situations in the game of baseball when umpires determine the award of bases based on the last base touched by the runner’s position at the “Time of the Pitch,” which is defined as the moment the pitcher’s movements commit him to deliver the ball to the batter. A runner who attempts to advance is considered to occupy the base last touched at the time the pitcher initiates his actual pitching motion to the batter. Let’s take the following play.

The Yankees and Nationals played in New York on August 26, 2025. In the bottom of the seventh, the Yankees had José Caballero on first base with two outs. Trent Grisham was the batter facing Clayton Beeter. On a 2–1 pitch to Grisham, Caballero took off for second base. Beeter never acknowledged that Caballero was attempting to advance to second, and when he began his motion to pitch, Caballero had not yet reached second base—he was maybe two or three feet from the bag.


Question: If Caballero had second base made when Grisham hit a fly ball, what would Caballero’s status be as a runner for the purpose of the rule?

Answer: Because Caballero had not reached second base before Beeter began his pitching motion to Grisham, Caballero’s last base touched was first base. In the above play, Beeter began his delivery at about the 2.4-second mark on the video. If you look closely, you will see that Caballero had not yet reached second base. Therefore, if Grisham flied out to the outfield, Caballero would have to tag up at first before advancing to second base, which would be unlikely.


Q. Same situation: Let’s say Grisham hit a ground ball to shortstop CJ Abrams, who threw the ball into dead-ball territory. Would Caballero be awarded third base or home?

A. Caballero would only be awarded third base, even if he was on or beyond second base at the moment the fielder released the errant throw. The reason is that he had not yet reached second at the time Beeter began his motion to pitch, and the throw by Abrams would have been the first play in the infield. Caballero’s status would be that of a runner on first base for the purpose of awarding bases.


Q. What if Caballero had second base made before Beeter began his motion to pitch?

A. If Caballero had second base made before Beeter began his motion to deliver the pitch, his status would be that of a runner on second base. If Grisham hit a fly ball, Caballero would have the right to tag up at second if he chose. He would not have to return to first base to tag up.

If Grisham hit a ground ball to Abrams, who fired the ball into dead-ball territory, the award would be two bases for both Caballero and Grisham. Caballero would score, and Grisham would be awarded second base.


Q. What is defined as the moment to pitch from the Windup Position?

A. It is the moment the pitcher begins the natural movement associated with his delivery of the ball to the batter—essentially, the start of his windup or delivery. Today, most pitchers throw from the hybrid position, and umpires must determine the pitcher’s natural movement to deliver the pitch.


Q. What is defined as the moment to pitch from the Set Position?

A. It is the moment the pitcher begins the natural movement associated with delivering the ball after he has come set with both hands together in front of his body. The preliminary motion known as the stretch is not considered the start of the pitching motion. From the hybrid position, pitchers must follow Set Position regulations unless they declare they are pitching from the Windup, which would not require a complete stop before delivery.


Q. The runner on first is off with the pitch. The pitcher begins his delivery before R1 has reached second base. The pitch deflects off the catcher, and the ball rolls into the dugout. When the ball rolled into the dugout, R1 had second base made. Does R1 get third base?

A. No. The award is one base from the last base touched at the time the pitcher begins his motion to deliver the pitch. Therefore, R1 would be awarded second base.


Q. What if the catcher chases a rolling ball toward the dugout and inadvertently deflects it into the dugout? What would be the base award for R1?

A. In that situation, R1 would be awarded two bases and would be placed on third. If the catcher determines that the ball has enough momentum to go into the dugout, he should leave it alone.


Q. What is the base award if a fair batted bounding ball that is no longer in flight deflects off an outfielder and goes over the wall in fair territory?

A. The batter and runners are awarded two bases from the last base touched at the time of the pitch.

The Rays and Red Sox played Game Three of the 2021 ALDS at Fenway Park. In the top of the 13th, with the score tied 4–4, the Rays had Yandy Díaz on first base and two outs when Kevin Kiermaier, facing Nick Pivetta, ripped a shot to deep right-center. The drive hit the wall on the fly, then deflected off Red Sox right fielder Hunter Renfroe and into the bullpen. It was ruled a book-rule double. The umpires held Díaz at third and Kiermaier was awarded second base. Since Díaz was on first base when the pitch was delivered, he was awarded third base per Rule 5.06(b)(4)(F). You can cross-reference Rule 5.05(a)(8).

One of the broadcasters incorrectly said, “It’s umpires’ discretion where to place the runners.” The umpires are required to award the runners two bases from the last base touched at the time the pitcher began his motion to deliver the pitch. When Pivetta began his motion to pitch, Díaz had not yet reached second base. Therefore, his two-base award was third base. The Red Sox won the game, 6–4.


Q. What is the base award if a fielder intentionally kicks or deflects a batted or thrown ball out of play?

A. The award is two bases from the moment the ball was kicked or deflected. An outfielder might attempt to do this, mistakenly thinking he is keeping the runners to a two-base award.


Rich Marazzi
Rules consultant/analyst: Angels, Dodgers, Mets, Nationals, Orioles, Padres, Phillies, Pirates, Red Sox, Rangers, Royals, Tigers, Twins, White Sox, Yankees, YES, and Chicago Sports Network

Have a question or comment for one of our experts?