base awards

Base Awards on Throws from the Outfield

The Blue Jays hosted the Rays on Aug. 16th when a base award issue emerged. In the top of the fifth, the Rays had Yandy Diaz on first and two outs when Ji-Man Choi hit a shot that went to the right field corner. Jays’ right fielder Teoscar Hernandez fielded the ball and fired it…

Over Throws from the Outfield and Base Awards

When an outfielder makes a throw that goes into dead ball territory (DBT) such as the dugout or the stands, all runners are awarded two bases from the last base they touched at the moment the ball is released by the outfielder. Infield overthrows into DBT have a separate rule which I will cover in…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.