dead ball territory

Expert Analysis

Base Awards on Throws from the Outfield

Topics: Base Awards, Batted Ball, Dead Ball Area, Deflected Ball, Uncategorized

The Blue Jays hosted the Rays on Aug. 16th when a base award issue emerged. In the top of the fifth, the Rays had Yandy Diaz on first and two outs when Ji-Man Choi hit a shot that went to the right field corner. Jays’ right fielder Teoscar Hernandez fielded the ball and fired it…

Expert Analysis

Crazy Sac Fly: Two Runs Score

Topics: Base Awards, Dead Ball Area, Dugout, Placing Runners, Video - Fielder
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

Outfielder’s Throw is Deflected into Dead Ball Territory

Topics: Base Awards, Dead Ball Area, Deflected Ball, Placing Runners, Runners, Uncategorized

Whenever a thrown, pitched, or batted ball is deflected into dead ball territory, umpires must be able to make the proper base award and coaches should be able to determine if the base award was proper. This can impact the outcome of a game. Thrown Ball Deflected into Dead Ball Territory Take what occurred when…

Expert Analysis

Fan Catches Foul Ball, Fielder Steals Glove and is Awarded Catch!

Topics: Batted Ball, Dead Ball Area, Foul Territory, Spectator Interference

On June 7, 2019, the Angels and Mariners played in Anaheim. M’s right fielder Domingo Santana made a catch in which he ended-up with two gloves. Here is what happened. Jonathan Lucroy led off the bottom of the fifth facing Marco Gonzales and hit a fly ball down the right field line that was caught…

Expert Analysis

Infield Throws and Pitched Balls That Deflect into Dead Ball Territory: Part II

Topics: Base Awards, Catcher, Dead Ball Area, Dugout, Placing Runners

In this Part II edition involving deflected balls, I’ll cover batted balls that deflect off infielders that go into dead ball territory and pitched balls that deflect off the catcher and go into dead ball territory. Unless noted, the Pro, NCAA and NFHS rule is the same. Ball Deflects Off Infielder and Lands in Dead…

Expert Analysis

Deflected Balls Go Into Dead Ball Territory

Topics: Batted Ball, Dead Ball Area, Foul Territory, Placing Runners, Placing Runners, Uncategorized

Deflected Balls That Go into Dead Ball Territory: Part I This is the first of a three-part series involving rules that relate to pitched, thrown and batted balls that are deflected into dead ball territory or remain in play.  In this edition, I’ll cover deflections that go into dead ball territory on throws from the…

Expert Analysis

Bruce Bochy Knows the Rules!

Topics: Catcher, Dead Ball Area, Dugout, Latest News, Placing Runners, Placing Runners

Regarding throws from the infield that go out of play, umpires must determine if it the “first play” or “second play.”  By rule, when an infielder initially fields the ball, that is NOT A PLAY. The infielder’s “first play” is either: (1) a throw to a base (most common), (2) an attempted tag of a…

Expert Analysis

9 Rules Questions Answered Here

Topics: Catcher, Dead Ball Area, Expert Analysis, Home Plate Collision, Infield Fly, Interference, Latest News, Official Baseball Rules, Pitcher, Placing Runners, Runner Interference, Substitutions, Uncategorized

1. Infield Fly Rule situation. The bases are loaded and one out when the batter hits a pop fly near first base in fair territory. The umpires invoke the IFR. The runner on first base, who is several feet off the bag, is tracking the fly ball instead of locating the first baseman who is…

Expert Analysis

First Play or Second Play? Placing Runners is Tricky

Topics: Base Awards, Dead Ball Area, Latest News, Manager Ejection, Placing Runners, Placing Runners, Runners

According to rule 5.06 (G), when a wild throw by an infielder goes out of play or under a bench, the umpires must distinguish if it’s the “first play” or “second play” by the infielder. Remember, by rule, the fielding of a ground ball, line drive or fly ball is not the “first play.” What…

Expert Analysis

Red Sox Catcher Nabbed for Detached Equipment Rule Violation

Topics: Balk, Base Awards, Batter's Box, Catcher, Catcher Interference, Equipment, Latest News, Official Baseball Rules

You cannot assume your players know even the most basic rules. Take what happened at Fenway Park on May 1, 2018,  when the Red Sox hosted the Royals. In the top of the 10th inning with the score tied 3-3, the Royals had runners on first and second and two outs when Sox catcher Christian…

  • 1
  • 2

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.