April 9, 2022

Defensive Alignment – Where is the First Baseman Not Allowed to play?

Defensive Alignment – Where is the First Baseman Not Allowed to play?

The baseball rulebook clearly states that all defensive players, except the catcher must be in fair territory at the start of a play. Does this include the first baseman who is holding a runner on? What is the penalty for having one or two feet in foul territory? Chris Welsh and Ted Barrett explain the rule and the penalty.

Comments

ringemupk301

What happens if the first baseman takes a throw on a pickoff with one foot in foul and tags the runner out. Is the runner out, or is there a penalty at that time?
What if the first baseman takes a throw on a pickoff an blocks the runners path back to the bag without the ball? Obstruction? Penalty?

Leave a Reply

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.