April 9, 2022

The Difference Between a Tag (a Runner) and a Touch on a Force Play

The Difference Between a Tag (a Runner) and a Touch on a Force Play

Fielders and baserunners should know this rule. If you have a force play, it is legal to touch the base with any part of your body if you have possession of the ball. But what about tagging the runner? Does the ball have to be in the glove? Chris Welsh and MLB, Umpire, Greg Gibson, explains this rule.

Leave a Reply

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.