The Difference Between a Tag (a Runner) and a Touch on a Force Play
Fielders and baserunners should know this rule. If you have a force play, it is legal to touch the base with any part of your body if you have possession of the ball. But what about tagging the runner? Does the ball have to be in the glove? Chris Welsh and MLB, Umpire, Greg Gibson, explains this rule.
Have a question or comment for one of our experts?
You must be logged in to comment on posts or ask questions of our experts. Join now for free to start commenting!