Rule 5.09

Expert Analysis

2022 Rules Questions: September Edition

Topics: Expert Analysis

Runner Obstructed During Rundown Question: See the above attachment before reading this play. In this situation, the runner going from second to third is obstructed during the rundown. I know this is a Type 1 obstruction because there was a play being directly made on the runner. The umpires awarded the obstructed runner third base…

Expert Analysis

Legal Catch Controversies from 2022 MLB Season

Topics: Expert Analysis

The official definition of the “Catch” rule that is referenced in this report: A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it; providing he does not use his cap, protector, pocket or any other part of his uniform…

Expert Analysis

Test Your Baseball Knowledge: Continuous Action Appeal

Topics: Expert Analysis

The above is a video of a High-A minor league game that was played on August 31, 2022 when the Hudson Valley Renegades (Yankees) hosted the Jersey Shore BlueClaws (Phillies). Let’s call the batter Jones, the runner Smith, and the pitcher Johnson.   In the bottom of the fifth inning, Hudson Valley’s Jones was batting with…

Expert Analysis

Fourth Out Appeal

Topics: Appeal

The Nats hosted the Pirates on June 29th when the Nationals had the opportunity to nullify a Pirates’ run by taking advantage of the “fourth out” appeal rule but failed to do so. With one out in the top of the fifth, the Bucs had Hoy Park on second and Jack Suwinski on third when…

Expert Analysis

Touch ‘Em All

Topics: Expert Analysis, Placing Runners, Replay Review

Play No. 1 A base runner is required to touch every base in order and to retouch any missed base. There are various layers involved in the rules when either of those conditions arise. The Pirates and Cubs played at Wrigley on May 17th. In the bottom of the eighth, Cubs’ prospect Christopher Morel homered…

Expert Analysis

Two Strike Bunt Goes Foul (But is NOT Strike Three)

Topics: Official Baseball Rules, Rule of the Week, Video - Batter
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

A Bobble in Real Time is a Catch in Slo-Mo

Topics: Base Awards, Definitions, Expert Analysis, Manager Ejection, Rule changes 2019, Rules Controversy, Umpire Manual Rules, Uncategorized

What Happened? Rich Marazzi: The Marlins beat the Tigers 5-4 in 11 innings on Tuesday night. A costly overturn of a “no catch” on the field call could have contributed to the Tigers’ defeat. The Tigers were batting in the bottom of the ninth with runners on first and third and one out when Ronny…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.