Ball hits batter-runner after he exits the box.

Advertisement

Ball hits batter-runner after he exits the box.

If a batted ball contacts the batter after he exits the batter’s box then the ball becomes dead and interference is called. The batter is out and the runners are returned to the last base legally occupied at the time of the interference.

November 18, 2019
Was this article helpful?

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.