Official Rules(view all)

NFHS 8-3-3d

NFHS 8-3-3d/OBR 5.12b6

If a fielder makes a catch and enters dead ball territory with both feet (or falls), the ball is dead and all runners get one base. If the fielder gains possession of a live batted ball and does the same thing, it is a ground rule double.

[OBR: on a catch, one step into dead ball territory is a dead ball and one base award. Have a question in to Jeff Nelson on what they do on a batted ball on the ground or a wild throw possessed on live ball territory and carried into dead ball territory.]