bat hits catchers mitt on backswing

RulesMLB Umpire Manual


Rules 6.03(a)(3), 6.03(a)(4), 6.03(a)(3) and (4) Comments: If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and in the umpire’s judgment unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of the batter on the follow-through or backswing while the batter is still in the batter’s box, it shall be called a strike only (no…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.